Skip to content

We’re going to give this ‘blog-thing’ a try!

October 17, 2011

My name is Erick Hartman. As a middle-aged(?) optometrist, this whole blog thing is a bit uncomfortable. I am not totally at ease bragging about myself or my business!  I suspect it will get easier as time goes on, and since this whole social media thing is definitely the wave of the future, I better get on board now. I will start, but will be followed by the rest of my staff, and as time goes on we will all get a little more ‘clever’ in how we blog!  Look for pictures, video clips and other things as we get the hang of this!

I’ll begin by introducing myself and my practice. I graduated from Pacific University College of Optometry in May 1980 (the same month Mt. St. Helens blew its top!).  I recieved additional training in Rehabilitative Optometry during a year-long residency at the American Lake Veterans Administration Medical Center just south of Tacoma, WA.  Three weeks after finishing my residency, I opened the doors of my brand new practice and saw my first patient in my very own private practice in my hometown of Tacoma, WA.  As they say, “The rest is history!”

After 30 years in private practice, I still love going to work each day! (I really don’t think of it as work!)  My wife, Tracie, is my office manager. Lina, Erica, Laura and Sonja round out the best staff in the world!  (I’ll let them introduce themselves in future blogs.)  We have fun together each day, as we strive to provide a level of customer service that can’t be beat! 

Find us by email, phone or street address at: familyeyecare2020@hotmail.com, 253-566-2020, or at 6314 19th St W, #1, Tacoma, WA 98466.

We are proud of the comfortable, friendly atmosphere that we provide to have your eyes examined. Coming in to pick up new eyeglasses has been labeled a fun ‘ceremony’ by one of our young patients! Comfortable contact lenses in most prescriptions, by Acuvue, are our specialty! And if you or a loved one has less than ‘normal’ vision due to macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, congenital eye problems or other eye conditions, we can help you use your remaining vision through the application of the laws of optics that you may not yet have experienced! (I’ll write more about all these topics in future posts.)

I’ve probably way over done it for the first entry in my practice’s new blog! Stay tuned!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

